tom yam

Yesterday, at my birthday, I cooked Tom Yam for the first time. Tom Yam is a Thailand food. It taste hot and sour (fresh ^^). I never taste any “real tom yam” (I mean the one that cooked by a chef in a Thai restaurant or being in Thailand to taste it :p), but my mother cooking. I like Tom Yam from the first time I taste it (I think it’s love at first taste :p), so I often ask my mom to cook it. And somehow, about three months ago, I really want to learn how to cook tom yam.

But since it was soooo expensive (because I want the sea food-tom yam, hehe..), I never work that plan out. Until yesterday, because yesterday is my 21st birthday (and because all the material, except its spices, was brought by my mother). Hehehhe….

Ok, let’s see what’s wiki said about Tom Yum

“Tom yum (Thai: ต้มยำ, IPA: [tôm jɑm], also sometimes romanized as tom yam or dom yam) is a soup originating from Thailand. It is perhaps one of the most famous dishes in Thai cuisine. It is widely served in neighboring countries such as Malaysia, Singapore, and Indonesia, and has been popularized around the world.

Tom yum is characterized by its distinct hot and sour flavors, with fragrant herbs generously used. The basic broth is made of stock and fresh ingredients such as lemon grass, kaffir lime leaves, galangal, shallots, lime juice, fish sauce, tamarind, and crushed chili peppers.

In Thailand, tom yum is usually made with prawns (tom yum goong), chicken (tom yum gai), fish (tom yum pla), or mixed seafood (tom yum talay or tom yum po taek) and mushrooms – usually straw or oyster mushrooms. The soup is often topped with generous sprinkling of fresh chopped coriander (cilantro) leaves.”

Ok, then my Tom Yam is tom yum talay type, because it contains prawn and squid ^^
I cooked one big pan of tom yam yesterday. And we eat it together as a dinner (astri plus my sister plus teh ratih plus nenden plus sundari, and a bowl for astra). I think everybody like it. Alhamdulillah..^^

This is what Tom Yam looks like (from wikipedia.org)

Tom Yum Goong

But the one I cooked colored more “red”…

One thought on “tom yam

  1. Pingback: Berawal dari Tom Yam « mommy wannabe

Leave a Reply

